Happy thoughts – Wednesday 25th January

Another fairly tough day at work, so again this feels necessary. And tough.

  • It’s Burns’ Night. And this starts with a negative, as we couldn’t find any haggis in Hammersmith or Southwark, but it did give me a excuse to drink whisky on a school night, plus it’s been lovely seeing people posting segments of Burns’ poetry today. Here’s a favourite:

When first my brave Johnie lad came to this town, 
He had a blue bonnet that wanted the crown;
But now he has gotten a hat and a feather,
Hey, brave Johnie lad, cock up your beaver!

Cock up your beaver, and cock it fu’ sprush,
We’ll over the border, and gie them a brush;
There’s somebody there we’ll teach better behaviour,
Hey, brave Johnie lad, cock up your beaver!

 

  • Had a brief but lovely wee chat with my dad on the phone. I wish I saw my parents more, but I’m hugely grateful that I get on so well with my family.
  • I saw this sign on the way home. I actually really enjoy my job and have no intention of handing in my notice any time soon, but it made me giggle.

img_7178

Leave a Reply

